Few days ago my my friend which I paint Blood Angels for asked me for a game and knowing he has got two Stormravens I just had to brace myself. Not that I do tailored lists all the time but suddenly it appeared to me I got absolutely nothing AA.

Quick look through Space Marines codex for some cheap AA unit and it strucked me! Stalker/Hunter. Only 70ish points value this tank suits my army quite nice. And it looks awesome!

fot. Home of Cadaver

fot. Home of Cadaver

But the very best thing GW did (I did not expect that!) is that you can actually assembly Stalker turret (above) and you are left with Hunter missile launcher which with a little bit of conversion looks like Thunderfire cannon! So spending only £40 you got Stalker and Thunderfire cannon or Rhino and thunderfire cannon! Buy wise and you can save even £42 😀

Here is my Thunderfire cannon conversion, Land Raider hatch cutted  assembled as a cover plate:

Converted Space Marines Thunderfire

Converted Space Marines Thunderfire cannon

Converted Space Marines Thunderfire

Converted Space Marines Thunderfire

Some people were asking me for tracks and I must admit I do not like the idea. This cannon would have a massive recoil and I do not think small platform would be stable enough to withstand that. Better imagine it has four bolts hammered into the ground.

And here is my Stalker waiting to be painted:

space marines stalker

Space Marines Stalker

Leave a Reply

